Transcript: NBA Referee Bill Spooner Comments to Pool Reporter after Lakers – Magic Game.

Transcript: NBA Referee Bill Spooner Comments to Pool Reporter after Lakers – Magic Game.

March 7, 2018

Pool Reporter Transcript

Crew Chief Bill Spooner

Postgame – Orlando at Los Angeles Lakers, March 7, 2018

NBA Crew Chief Bill Spooner met with pool reporter Bill Oram, of the Orange County Register after the game between the Magic and the Lakers tonight. Here is a transcript of that interview.

 

Q: With .6 seconds left did the clock start before anyone touched the inbounds pass?

A: “Correct. The ball was not touched on the floor, so the clock malfunctioned.”

 

Q: What did the review following the play determine?

A: “That the ball was in midair when the clock malfunctioned and therefore, the ruling is, because there’s no possession when the clock goes off, the ruling is that there’s a jump ball, center circle.”

 

Q: Why was a jump ball deemed to be the correct call?

A: “Because that is the rule. The rule is 13E-9-2. And anytime there is either an inadvertent whistle and/or a horn when the ball is in the air, there’s no possession and we go center circle, jump ball.”

 

Q: Was the ruling made by the game official or the replay center in Seacaucus?

A: “The replay center in New Jersey was the ruler, official.”
 

Follow Up:

Q: Does the scorer’s table start the clock, or do the officials start the clock?

A: “We both do. It just depends on who gets to it first. All four of us have responsibility to start the clock.”