NBA Announces 2020 Playoff Officials

NEW YORK, August 16, 2020 – The NBA today announced the list of 36 officials who earned spots to work the first round of the 2020 playoffs.

“We congratulate this group of officials on their on-court achievements and selection to work the 2020 NBA Playoffs,” said Byron Spruell, NBA President, League Operations. “This year has required even more commitment and sacrifice from our staff due to the unique circumstances we find ourselves. Their dedication has been hugely instrumental in the success of our restart.”

Playoff officials are selected by the NBA Referee Operations management team based on three specific criteria throughout the season: NBA Referee Operations graded rankings, play calling accuracy and team rankings. Officials will be evaluated after each round of the playoffs to determine future advancement in the 2020 postseason.

The officials who comprise the 2020 playoff roster average more than 15 years of NBA experience and total more than 550 years of service.

This year’s playoff staff has 18 officials (50%) with seven or more years of playoff experience, highlighted by Scott Foster and Tony Brothers who will be officiating in the playoffs for their 21st and 20th seasons, respectively.

Referees assigned to first-round games include six with more than 100 playoff games worked: Scott Foster (188), Tony Brothers (140), James Capers, Jr. (135), Marc Davis (132), Ed Malloy (111) and Bill Kennedy (104).

In addition, Aaron Smith and Dedric Taylor are making their debut as members of the playoff staff.

Below is the list of officials for the 2020 NBA Playoffs:

Ayotte, Blair, Brothers, Brown, Capers, Collins, Corbin, Cutler, Davis, Fitzgerald, Ford, Forte, Foster, Fraher, Jo. Goble, Guthrie, Kennedy, Kirkland, Lewis, Maddox, Malloy, Mott, Petraitis, K. Scott, M. Smith, B. Taylor, D. Taylor, Tiven, Williams, Wood, Wright, Zarba

The following officials are Alternates for the 2020 NBA Playoffs First Round:

Barnaky, Buchert, Lindsay, A. Smith

The NBA playoffs begin Monday, August 17. Individual game assignments for referees are posted at at approximately 9 a.m. ET each game day.