NBA Announces Game Officials for 2022 NBA Finals

NEW YORK, June 1, 2022 – The NBA today announced the list of game officials assigned to the NBA Finals 2022 presented by YouTube TV. The championship series between the Boston Celtics and Golden State Warriors tips off on Thursday, June 2 at 9 p.m. ET on ABC.

“Just as the goal of our players is to reach the postseason finale, the same is true of our officials,” said Byron Spruell, NBA President, League Operations. “We appreciate this group’s outstanding work during the playoffs and congratulate them on being selected to officiate in the NBA Finals.”

NBA Finals officials were selected by the NBA Referee Operations management team based on their performance throughout the first three rounds of the 2022 playoffs. Officials were evaluated after each round to determine advancement in this year’s postseason.

The referees assigned to the 2022 NBA Finals are below:

Tony Brothers (11th Finals) David Guthrie (5th)
James Capers (11th) Courtney Kirkland (2nd)
Marc Davis (11th) Eric Lewis (4th)
Kane Fitzgerald (4th) Josh Tiven (3rd)
Scott Foster (15th) James Williams (2nd)
John Goble (6th) Zach Zarba (9th)


Foster has officiated 22 NBA Finals games, followed by Davis with 16, and Capers and Brothers at 13 each.

NBA officials Curtis Blair, Tyler Ford, Mark Lindsay, Ed Malloy, Ben Taylor and Sean Wright have been assigned as alternates for the 2022 NBA Finals.

Individual game assignments for referees are posted at at approximately 9 a.m. ET each game day.

# # #