NBA Announces Officials for the 2018 NBA Finals

NEW YORK, May 30, 2018 – The NBA today announced the list of 12 referees who will officiate the The Finals 2018 presented by YouTube TV.  The championship series between the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Golden State Warriors tips off on Thursday, May 31 at 9 p.m. ET on ABC.

“The 12 referees chosen to work The Finals have had outstanding years, earning the right to contribute their expertise to this year’s series,” said Monty McCutchen, NBA Vice President and Head of Referee Development and Training. “On a personal note, I know how much pride accompanies this honor and I congratulate these fine referees for reaching the pinnacle of their craft.”

Finals officials were selected by the NBA Referee Operations management team based on their performance throughout the first three rounds of the 2018 playoffs.  Officials were evaluated after each round to determine advancement in this year’s postseason.

Statement from Monty McCutchen.

The 12 referees assigned to The Finals are below:

Tony Brothers (7th Finals)

Mike Callahan (15th)

James Capers (7th)

Marc Davis (7th)

Scott Foster (11th)

John Goble (2nd)

David Guthrie (1st)

Ed Malloy (6th)

Ken Mauer (13th)

Jason Phillips (5th)

Derrick Stafford (8th)

Zach Zarba (5th)

Four of the 12 have officiated at least 12 Finals games, highlighted by Callahan with 19 and Mauer with 18.  The officiating roster also includes one first-time Finals referee, David Guthrie.

NBA officials Eric Lewis and Tom Washington have been assigned as alternates for The Finals 2018.

Individual game assignments for referees are posted at at approximately 9 a.m. ET each game day.