NBA Rule Authority – Goaltending and Basket Interference

Here is a great example from last night’s Milwaukee vs. Oklahoma City game of a player legally touching the ball while it is in contact with the rim (an exception to the goaltending and basket interference rules).  View video here.   Most people know that players may not touch the ball once it has touched the rim and is either using the rim as its base or has bounced off the rim and is in the imaginary cylinder above the rim.

However, what is often forgotten is that a player may touch the ball while it is still touching the rim and rolling off its outer edge – thus ending the field goal attempt.   For a more in-depth discussion about goaltending and basket interference, check out the league’s explanations of misunderstood rules on our officiating page here or our video rulebook.