POOL REPORT ON CLARIFICATION ON THE TURNOVER BY JULIUS RANDLE WITH 3.2 SECONDS REMAINING IN TONIGHT’S KNICKS AT NETS GAME
INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY BRIAN MAHONEY (ASSOCIATED PRESS) WITH CREW CHIEF SCOTT FOSTER, FOLLOWING TONIGHT’S NEW YORK KNICKS AT BROOKLYN NETS GAME.
March 15, 2021
QUESTION: “Could you clarify the traveling call against Julius Randle with 3.2 seconds remaining?”
FOSTER: “The defender was deemed to touch the ball, but not cause it to be dislodged or loose. Upon that when the player alights he cannot purposely drop the ball or dribble the ball or be first to touch after he dropped the ball.
QUESTION: “The defender can touch the ball, but it can be ruled that he actually didn’t knock the ball out of his hand.”
FOSTER: “That’s correct. Basically prior to Julius alighting the ball was touched. He alighted and he can pass or shoot but he cannot purposely drop the ball and be the first to touch nor can he dribble.”
QUESTION: “At the end of the game did you hear him approach you or the other officials at all?
FOSTER: “I saw him approach but all three officials went to center court to allow the players to clear the floor, nobody heard him say anything.”