POOL REPORT ON THE GOALTENDING CALL ON TRISTAN THOMPSON AND THE MARCUS SMART EJECTION IN THE FOURTH QUARTER OF TONIGHT’S PORTLAND TRAIL BLAZERS AND BOSTON CELTICS GAME TONIGHT
INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY TIM BONTEMPS (ESPN) WITH CREW CHIEF SEAN WRIGHT FOLLOWING TONIGHT’S PORTLAND TRAIL BLAZERS AT BOSTON CELTICS GAME.
May 2, 2021
QUESTION: Why was a goaltending called on Tristan Thompson with 7:27 to go in the fourth quarter?
WRIGHT: “During live play the ball was touched by Thompson and it was deemed to be in the cylinder at that time.”
QUESTION: Is that play reviewable?
WRIGHT: “As per rule, the play occurred above two minutes in the fourth quarter, the play is reviewable if Boston utilizes a coach’s challenge.”
QUESTION: Coach Stevens indicated in the post-game that he was told by the officials that he did not challenge the play in time. Were they not able to challenge it?
WRIGHT: “As mentioned, it is reviewable if Boston uses their coach’s challenge. The challenging team must call a legal timeout and signal for a coach’s challenge. When Coach Stevens calls a timeout, the ball was already put in play with Portland having possession therefore we could not grant Boston a timeout.”
QUESTION: What led to the decision to eject Marcus Smart from tonight’s game?
WRIGHT: “The contact by Smart to [Jusuf] Nurkic’s groin was deemed to be unsportsmanlike therefore he was ejected.”