Transcript: NBA Official Bill Spooner Comments to Pool Reporter after LA Clippers – Mavericks Game

Transcript: NBA Official Bill Spooner Comments to Pool Reporter after LA Clippers – Mavericks Game

March 23, 2017

Pool Reporter Transcript

NBA Official: Bill Spooner

Pool Reporter: Tim MacMahon (ESPN.com)

Postgame – LA Clippers at Dallas Mavericks– March 23, 2017

Q: Why was the push by J.J. Barea deemed worthy of a flagrant 2?

Bill Spooner: “The contact, in our judgement, was deemed unnecessary and excessive. The contact was to the shoulders and above to the throat. That is deemed as a flagrant penalty two.”

Q: After reviewing the play, did you believe that Blake Griffin flopped?

Bill Spooner: “That is not really relevant to our judgement of the play. It has nothing to do with the merits of the play.”