POOL REPORT ON THE REVIEW OF THE OUT OF BOUNDS PLAY WITH 9.3 SECONDS LEFT IN THE FOURTH QUARTER AND THE FINAL FIELD GOAL MADE BY DEANDRE AYTON IN TONIGHT’S LA CLIPPERS AT PHOENIX SUNS GAME

POOL REPORT ON THE REVIEW OF THE OUT OF BOUNDS PLAY WITH 9.3 SECONDS LEFT IN THE FOURTH QUARTER AND THE FINAL FIELD GOAL MADE BY DEANDRE AYTON IN TONIGHT’S LA CLIPPERS AT PHOENIX SUNS GAME

 

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY DUANE RANKIN (ARIZONA REPUBLIC) WITH CREW CHIEF SCOTT FOSTER FOLLOWING TONIGHT’S LA CLIPPERS AT PHOENIX SUNS GAME

June 22, 2021

 

QUESTION: What did you see in the review with 9.3 seconds left that led to overturning the call from Suns ball to Clippers ball?

FOSTER: “It was initially ruled off [Patrick] Beverley but after replay review the last touch was by Devin Booker, that call comes from the Replay Center.”

                                

QUESTION: On the final play, what did you see that confirmed [Deandre] Ayton’s basket was good?

FOSTER: “Per NBA rule, an offensive player can touch the ball in the cylinder during a throw in.  In this case, Ayton controlled the ball, completed the basket, and we timed it at the replay center to make sure it was less than 0.9 and that act of him touching the ball and clearing the net only took 0.2”