Pool Report on the Technical Fouls Issued to Chauncey Billups and why he wasn’t Granted a Timeout with 15.1 Seconds Remaining in Tonight’s Trail Blazers at Thunder Game
The Pool Report interview was conducted by Brett Dawson (Sellout Crowd) with Crew Chief Bill Kennedy following tonight’s Trail Blazers at Thunder game.
January 23, 2024
QUESTION: Can you explain why Chauncey Billups received both his first and second technical fouls with 15.1 seconds remaining?
KENNEDY: The first technical foul was issued due to contact while Chauncey was trying to express himself to the official. He makes contact with the official two times, and the result is a technical foul. The second technical foul was assessed due to the fact that Chauncey aggressively now tries to follow and pursue the official after the first technical foul was assessed. So that covers basically those two technical fouls.
QUESTION: Chauncey said after the game that he tried to call a timeout. Why was he not granted a timeout in that situation?
KENNEDY: The referee in the slot position was refereeing the double team that was right in front of him, which makes it difficult for number one to hear and number two to see a coach request a timeout behind him. He is taught to referee the play until completion, which a double dribble happens, and he correctly calls the double dribble and then pursuant (to that) the technical fouls come forward.