Goaltending/Basket Interference

Since the 2012-13 season, referees have reviewed situations in which they are not reasonably certain whether a goaltending or basket interference violation was called correctly during the last two minutes of the fourth period and overtime.

Possible goaltending violations that were not called are not reviewable.

Goaltending is confirmed when a player (offense or defense) touches the ball on a shot:

  1. After it reaches its apex (its highest point) and is on a downward flight toward the basket with a reasonable chance to go in;
  2. After it hits the backboard and is headed toward the basket, whether going up or down, with a reasonable chance to go in;
  3. When it is in contact with the backboard, i.e., a player may not “trap” the ball (a batted ball against the backboard is not a trapped ball);
  4. Once it has touched the rim and is either using the rim as its base or has bounced off the rim and is in the imaginary cylinder above the rim. (Note, a ball that is rolling off the rim may be touched, even if it is still in contact with the rim because it has no chance to go in); and
  5. Generally, touch or vibrate the rim, backboard or net in a way that affects a shot attempt

When conducting the review, referees also look to determine whether:

  • The shooter committed a boundary line violation prior to the goaltending or basket interference violation,
  • An 8-second backcourt violation occurred before the goaltending or basket interference violation, or
  • Any unsportsmanlike acts or unnecessary contact occurred.